NSS 2021 Convention ~ June 28-July 2* Register

Photo: Matt Bowers, NSS


Adaptations to Cave Life

The Biology Section of NSS welcomes presentations in our biospeleology session. Biospeleology, also known as cave biology, is dedicated to the study of organisms that live within subterranean systems or springs. Talks (or posters) related to cave biology including species descriptions, range extensions, behavioral observations, microbial ecology, ecosystem-scale studies, or outreach activities are all welcome. Students are encouraged to attend and present.

The biospeleology section of the NSS encourages and expedites research and communication among cavers interested in and researchers conducting the study of cave biota.

The first documented mention of a cave organisms dates back to 1689, with the documentation of the olm, a cave salamander. Discovered in a cave in Slovenia, in the region of Carniola, it was mistaken for a baby dragon and was recorded by Johann Weikhard von Valvasor in his work The Glory of the Duchy of Carniola. The first formal study on cave organisms was conducted on the blind cave beetle.

Session Details

Session Moderator

Sarah Keenan, PhD

Department of Geology and Geological Engineering, South Dakota School of Mines and Technology

Call For Abstracts:

Opens: Monday, March 1, 2021
Closes: Saturday, May 1, 2021
Notifications of Acceptance: Tuesday, May 4, 2021

Session Moderators:

Sarah Keenan
Email: swkeenan@gmail.com


How to write an abstract

Online Abstract Submissions:

Link will be available here after the call for abstract submission date. Check back.

Student Scientists:

The James G. Mitchell Fund was established in 1965 and is maintained by contributions to the National Speleological Foundation. This award includes a cash award for the best scientific paper presented at the NSS Convention by a student member (or members) of the society. Eligible papers shall be judged by an interdisciplinary panel appointed by the Mitchell Award sub-committee chair. For consideration, contact sub-committee chair, Dr. Kathy Lavoie at award-mitchell@caves.org.